Pass 2 America
1 Lake Way, Suite 100
Kirkland, Washington 98033
Phone: 425-987-9874

Regional Center Overview

The U.S. Congress created the employment-based fifth preference ("EB-5") immigrant visa category in 1990 for immigrants who invest in, and participate sufficiently in, the management of U.S. commercial enterprises that benefit the U.S. economy. Each investment must create and/or save at least ten (10) full-time jobs for U.S. workers. One million eight hundred thousand dollars ($1,800,000) is the minimum required investment amount, although that amount is reduced to $900,000 if the investment is made in a high unemployment area or qualifying rural area (a "Targeted Employment Area" or "TEA").

In 1992, to stimulate interest in the EB-5 Program, the U.S. Congress enacted the EB-5 Regional Center Pilot Program ("Pilot Program"). The Pilot Program allows public and private entities to apply to the USCIS for regional center designation for the purpose of developing qualifying investments for foreign investors. A regional center provides a structure for focusing foreign investment in a specific U.S. geographic area, and for promoting economic growth in such an area through increased export sales, improved productivity, creation of new jobs, and increased domestic capital investment. Immigrant investors can qualify under the Pilot Program by making a qualifying investment in a project sponsored by a USCIS-approved regional center.

All of Pass2America / Pass2NY's TEA investment areas qualify for both real estate and business investments. To learn more about this, select the Investment Areas tab on the left.

To learn more about the employment-based fifth preference ("EB-5") immigrant visa category, please visit, under "Working in the US" section, then "Permanent Workers".